IMPORTANT: To receive Member Discounts, you must login to your Member Account for discounts to be applied

Phonic Readers in Public Libraries

Phonic readers (sometimes called decodable readers) are books that have been written using words that can be decoded by ‘sounding them out’ plus a small number of sight words (e.g. ‘said’) that can’t be ‘sounded out’. Phonic readers help new readers learn to read more quickly, and also help struggling readers, dyslexic readers, and reluctant readers to become successful readers.

You can access phonic readers through South Australian Libraries using the OneCard network Find the books you wish to borrow and place a hold on the title, using your card number and pin. The book will be couriered to your local library. Use the list below to help you find the books you are looking for.

Some of the more popular phonic based readers have been listed below demonstrating how each works.

All of these readers are available to purchase through the SPELD SA Shop and members are able to borrow the readers from the SPELD SA Library.

The Dandelion and Phonic Book Catch-up Series

The Dandelion series of phonic books and catch up readers are written with a highly-structured phonic progression are especially made to help all readers, especially dyslexic readers learn to read. The books all have imaginative stories with appealing characters and colourful and motivating illustrations. All of the books also have workbooks that complement each book with reading and writing activities.

Dandelion Launchers 1-15 give you 4 books in each set that cover specific sounds needed for extensive reading practice of words around the first 42 sounds.

Dandelion Readers 1-5 give you 3 sets of books with extra practice reading these sounds in more complex sentences (each set from 1-3, has 1 book that complements each of the Launcher sets from 1-10. Sets 4 & 5 have a similar quota that will extend Launchers 11-15.). With Dandelion Readers 1-5 your set will now have 7 books in each set progressing in difficulty.

Dandelion Readers Levels 1, 2, 3, 4 (14 books in each set)

Dandelion Readers Set 9 split vowel spellings (6 books)

Dandelion Readers Sets 6-10 provide students with practice reading within the extended phonics code. Many students will be able to become independent readers once they have finished the entire series of these books.

The Moon Dog Series assume that students need to go back to the beginning but have pictures and story-lines that suit readers 8+. Readers in sets 1 and 2 work through the 42 sounds, Set 3 covers vowel sounds.

The Magic Belt readers flow on from the Moon Dog series, and then Totem readers, Alba readers, Rescue Readers, Talisman 1 & 2 readers, and the Titan’s Gauntlets readers flow on in a progressive order of phonic knowledge.

SPELD SA Phonic Books

These A2 sized books are grouped in a developing order based on the order of the 42 sounds introduced in the Jolly Phonics early literacy program,

  • Group 1: s, a, t, i, p, n
  • Group 2: ck, c, k, e, h, r, m, d
  • Group 3: g, o, u, l, f, b
  • Group 4: ai, j, oa, ie, ee, or
  • Group 5: z, w, ng, v, oo (book), oo (food)
  • Group 6: y, x, ch, sh, th (that), th (thing)
  • Group 7: qu, ou, oi, ue, er, ar

Each book is published with suggestions on how parents, tutors and teachers can get the most out of the book. The books are also available through our free online phonic books collection: click here for online & printable PDF verisons

The Fitzroy Reader series (8 sets, 10 books in each set)

The Fitzroy Readers take the young learner from simple sounding words like cat and mat (in the 1st story) through to words like appreciative and consciousness (in the final story). Each story features a basic English sound (e.g. oy), a few sight words (e.g. said), a revision word list and an extension word list.

  • Readers set 1-10 and 1x–10x introduce basic letter sounds along with several essential special words.
  • Readers 11-20 and 11x-20x systematically introduce many new digraphs (e.g sh and er). Used together with the basic letter sounds (a for apple, b for bat etc.),
  • Readers 21-30 continue to build step-by-step on the information learned in Readers 1-20. Every Reader is only slightly more advanced than the one before it.
  • Readers 31-40 introduce the long vowel sounds (e.g. a-e as in cake).
  • Readers 41-50 and 51-60 Teach readers at advanced levels. These readers occasionally teach up to three new sounds. This speeds up learning without overburdening the now competent reader. Due to the systematic structure of the program, even more complex sentences are soon no problem.

The Rip Rap series (Sets A and B 10 novels in each set)

These two sets of twelve books is written for upper primary and secondary aged students who have lower than average reading skills.

Struggling to make sense of a range of advice, bewildered by participation in classroom lessons that are above their reading level, and lacking basic decoding skills, many of these students have lost all confidence that they will ever learn to read well. With their friends reading Harry Potter, students with any residual self-respect do not want to be seen grappling with books written for 5 year old beginner readers.

The Rip Rap novels are designed to look like the books that similar aged students read.

With a strictly controlled vocabulary, and introducing digraphs and spelling patterns one at a time, these exciting, often funny, stories build confidence in reading and a solid foundation of phonic understanding.

These high interest, low reading level novels are intended to be read in sequence. Each builds on the skills learned in the previous book. Confidence is built through success and practice of word families.

We know that many students with reading difficulties are intelligent people, who are just as capable of thinking deeply and critically as their peers. The Rip Rap books are good springboards for class discussion. As students progress through the series, the stories touch on a range of increasingly challenging subjects, such as terrorism, domestic violence, supernatural events, cloning, war and time travel. It would be appropriate for more advanced readers to share these books and discussions.

Little Learners Books

Little Learners Love Literacy books enable children to read using their new knowledge of letters and sounds to decode text. They are carefully sequenced in 7 stages. Each stage is expertly levelled to support children as they move through the stages of learning to read. There are 50 Little Learner books covers Stage 1, 2, 3, 4, Plus 4, 5, 6, and 7 Units 1,2 & 3.

SPELD SA is a not-for-profit organisation founded in 1969. We provide advice and services to children and adults with specific learning difficulties and those who care for, teach, and work with them.

Our organisation is governed by a council, whose members include parents, teachers, accountants, lawyers, psychologists, optometrists, doctors, speech pathologists and other interested professionals.

© 2021 SPELD SA Inc | Privacy Policy
Built by 2Excel